Sign in to follow this  
John Bonham

Y2K

December '99 was 20 years ago!

Where were you, what were you doing, what are your memories of any and all things December '99-related?

I was 26 years old, no kids, didn't own a home, and was still working as a general contractor. 

I was full-on in the middle of my "opiates" period.

I thought the shit was gonna go down pretty soon, and I wasn't too far off... 9/11 was 21 months away.

I was a freshman in college. I took LSD for the first and last time and I had an Asian stalker who scared the shit out of me.

14 minutes ago, magisme said:

I was a freshman in college. I took LSD for the first and last time and I had an Asian stalker who scared the shit out of me.

:omg:

I was an angsty sophomore in high school. Times weren't great but I wish I had the forethought to make the most of it instead of sulking and rebelling. I was mistakenly really into basketball.

I got tired of newsreports on Y2K. Later on it got voted one of the most hated words. News hasn't gotten much better.

I wouldn't return to that era. Save a few movies it was  a pretty bland time.

17. I remember going to see a "futuristic laser show" at midnight in the city and it was the greatest pile of shit I've ever witnessed in my life. It was cold, windy and at midnight started pissing rain. 

I half hoped a plane would fall out of the sky just so there'd be something interesting to see. 

Probably the greatest damp squib of my life. Talk about a letdown. 

I remember my Dad loudly proclaiming - "What a load of bollocks" at the laser show. 

Went home, put on Jools Holland I think and had a few cans with my Dad. 

Ever since I've had an intense dislike of New Year's Eve and without fail it turns out to be a shitshow every fuckin year.