Sign in to follow this  
arnold layne

Your favorite artists and artwork

meatpuppet's Picasso avatar inspired me to find a new appreciation for art. 

Does anyone else have a favorite artist? Mine currently is van Gogh. He painted The Sorrowing Man, my avatar, but he is probably most famous for Starry Night and severing his ear. 

Really interesting biography. He was clearly a nutcase alcoholic and didn't really become famous until the, 'Oh shit. This dead, poverty I stricken, mentally insane lunatic could also paint'.

What say you GNFNR?

Most paintings don't do much for me for some reason. I'm a pleb like that. Maybe it's because the medium seems so far removed from contemporary life. I don't know.

I still love going to museums. The Birth of Venus was dope in person.

botticelli-birth-venus.jpg

I studied 3 years of history of art in the highschool, thats when I got in touch with lots of stuff about art in it's different forms. It's hard for me to tell my favorites, because today it can be one, tomorrow it can be another one. There's too many ... here you have some (painting/drawing, sculture, architecture)

- Van gogh

- Salvador Dalí

- Matisse

- Keith Haring

- M.C. Escher

- Auguste Rodin

- Mies van der rohe

(Contemporary) photography is my favourite type of art. I'm also involved. I cannot say I have a favourite artist in particular, though. I basically prefer and like certain pieces over whole portfolios/life works. For this reason, coming across the work from time to time is a great pleasure every time.

Eguchi continued:

Cm8Mt29WIAE1uMa.jpg

51QqsBG5ecL.jpg

I also like this guy called Aquirax Uno, a guy who drew creepy/erotic stuff in the 60s.  Mostly young girls, flowers, and birds.

e0f75821c42f9cb0a805dbde804b48f3.jpg

Check out his Pink Floyd portrait from the 70s..

4b1c4b75719f874f7e9c79f20d787193.jpg

Last but not least is my favorite artist of all time, the man who gave us AKIRA, Katsuhiro Otomo.