Sign in to follow this  
John Bonham

JB's Grateful Dead corner

I have very little knowledge of the Dead.

Kids in my high school enjoying going to see them a few times a year, and everyone loved the Dancing Bears and the skull/lightning logo. Then Jerry died the summer before my senior year. Sad day for a lot of stoner kids at school.

I remembered "Touch of Grey" and "Fire on the Mountain." I was aware of a song called "Dark Star" but never actually listened to it all the way through, but I thought it was cool that they put together a version on CD that was edited from like hundreds of different performances into one definitive live version. I also thought it was cool as shit that they were selling "official" bootlegs back in the mid-90s before anyone else was doing it.

My first real exposure was the cover of "Ripple" by Jane's Addiction which I think smokes the original. I also came to know Uncle John's Band, cause that summer I worked at an amusement park where every fifteen minutes I'd be subjected to Jimmy Buffet's cover of it over the PA system.

(Some woman actually filed a complaint cause he says "goddamn" in the song and her kids had to hear it...the horror! The Indigo Girls pussed out (pun intended) with their cover by singing "sister" instead of "goddamn"....hmph. Religious lesbians...go figure.)

Eventually I head the original version of "Uncle John's Band" and I was shocked that I already knew all the words cause I heard the Buffet version so many times. The Dead version was WAAAY better. i still like it to this day.

And I remember smoking some weed and trying to get into it to see what everyone was all excited about, but like Phish, it still never did much for me.